Holland Heading To BC Hall

The BC Sports Hall of Fame has announced its 2019 class of inductees.

Vernon-born Ken Holland will be inducted under the builder/coach category along with Darlene Currie in Basketball and Tony Waiters in Soccer.

The longtime Redwings General Manager has had a storied career as an executive in the NHL, all of which was with Detroit.

Holland spent seven years as the Redwings director of amateur scouting before being promoted to assistant general manager. After three years, Holland was promoted to his current position of general manager, executive vice president and alternate governor of the Detroit Red Wings. 

Holland has won the Stanley Cup four times with Detroit: the first in 1997 as assistant general manager and goaltending coach, and the latter three as general manager in 1998, 2002 and 2008.

Other BC Sports Hall of fame inductees include longtime Vancouver Canucks Daniel and Henrik Sedin in ice hockey, Emily Brydon in Skiing, Roy Gerela in Football and Kelly McCallum in Rugby.

Under the team category, inducted will be the 1968 New Westminster Salmonbellies in Lacrosse. 

Ralph ‘Hunk’ Henderson will be inducted as a pioneer for his work in basketball and football; Dan Jukich will be inducted in the media category and Ron Toigo will receive the W.A.C. Bennett Award.

The 53rd Induction Class will be honoured at the 2019 Induction Gala, presented by Victory Square, Thursday, May 23rd, 2019 at the Vancouver Convention Centre.

Source : https://www.castanet.net/news/Sports/241968/Holland-heading-to-BC-Hall

Thank you for visit my website
Holland heading to BC Hall
Sedin twins heading into B.C. Sports Hall of Fame
Former Danvers hockey coach Flynn heading into MSHCA Hall of Fame
'Some purists will burst into tears': Jools Holland and Marc Almond reinvent Tainted Love
JMU falls to Colgate 23-20 in second round of FCS playoffs
Yonkers: Friday 11/30 Analysis
The Latest: Houston event for Bush calls for colorful socks
The Latest: Hearse carrying Bush casket leaves funeral home
No. 6 Nevada keeps rolling with win over Arizona State